Skip to main content

Theatre for Youth 2022

| Cynthia Harper |

Two Theatre for Youth(TFY) Festivals were scheduled for the spring.  The first TFY festival was at Saint James School, Montgomery, AL, on March 5, 2022, and the second at Collins Intermediate School, Scottsboro, AL on March 12, 2022 was canceled due to inclement weather.  We were unable to reschedule it.  Nearly 130 students from 9 elementary and middle school drama programs participated. The participating organizations were Bayside Academy, Prattville Junior High School, The Studio (Mobile), Thompson Middle School (Shelby County), Wetumpka Middle School, Collins Intermediate School, Discovery Middle School (Huntsville) and Trace Crossings Elementary School (Hoover).

Coordinating the events were Cindy Harper, Executive Director, Melissa Strickland, Chair, Theatre for Youth, Ashley Bishop, Vice Chair, Theatre for Youth, and hosts Lonny Harrison at St James School, and Matt Brewer at Collins Intermediate School.  The judges were Lani Dill, Jeff Glass, Jason Cox, Justin McGuire, Randy Foster, Jay Russell, Ricky Higby, Steve Mitchel, Tammy Ardvison, Eric Ardvison, and Ashley Bishop.  Workshops were led by Brady Walker, Madison Cornett and Sean Golson.

The Theatre for Youth Festival provide quality training workshops and performance opportunities for Alabama theatre students in 4th through 8th grade. The festival consists of solo, duet and group acting events, solo, duet and group musical theatre events, pantomime, and a technical theatre showcase. The top three students in each event receiving a Superior score are named to the All-Star Cast and receive a medal. 

All Star Cast – Montgomery:

Solo Acting – VarsityThompson Middle SchoolAddie Pavlick 
Solo Acting – VarsityThompson Middle SchoolBrooklyn Jackson 
Solo Acting – VarsityUMS-Wright Preparatory SchoolLilly Cunningham 
Solo Acting – NoviceUMS-Wright Preparatory SchoolNicholas McPherson 
Solo Acting – NoviceThe StudioVivian Marlow 
Solo Acting – NoviceBayside AcademyDrew Williams 
Musical Theatre – VarsityThompson Middle SchoolMia Stephens 
Musical Theatre – VarsityBayside AcademyLily Lumpkin 
Musical Theatre – VarsityUMS-Wright PreparatoryBrody Green 
Musical Theatre – NoviceUMS-Wright PreparatoryJuliette Cole 
Duet Acting- VarsityUMS-Wright Preparatory SchoolKate WatkinsMarina Hess
Duet Acting- VarsityPrattville Junior High SchoolMadison HarrisDezray Webster
Duet Acting- VarsityWetumpka Middle SchoolChristina FulmerKennedy Taylor
Duet Acting-NoviceUMS-Wright Preparatory SchoolGunnar HowellHenry Arrington
Duet Acting-NoviceBayside AcademyDrew WilliamsSadie Murphy
Duet Acting-NoviceUMS-Wright Preparatory SchoolPiper Clark Juliette Cole
Duet Musical – VarsityThe StudioAdalyn LylesAndy Houston
Duet Musical – VarsityThompson Middle SchoolMia StephensDelicia Davis
Group Acting- VarsityThompson Middle SchoolGroup A (6) – Belscher 
Group Acting- VarsityUMS-WrightGroup A (6)- Howell 
Group Acting- VarsityUMS-WrightGroup A (3) – Cunningham 
Pantomime- VarsityUMS Wright Preparatory SchoolBrody Green 
Tech Showcase – VarsityThe StudioAyla Brannon 

Join Today

Any member of your organization can register for ACT Membership.