Skip to main content

Theatre for Youth 2019

The ACT Theatre for Youth Division held Middle/Elementary School festival on March 30, 2019 at Saint James School, Montgomery and on April 13, 2019 at Collins Intermediate School, Scottsboro.  Coordinating events were Sue Ellen Gerrells, Festival Director, Dawn Gerrells, Festival Assistant, Cindy Harper, Executive Director, Stacey Chancellor, Chair, Theatre for Youth, Melissa Strickland, Vice Chair Theatre for Youth, Lonny Harrison at Saint James School and Matt Brewer at Collins Intermediate School. 

Participating organizations included: Alabama Waldorf School, Albertville City Schools, Centre Mddle School CharACTers Children’s Theatre, Cloverdale Playhouse, Collins Intermediate School, Decatur Middle School, Florence Academy of Fine Arts, Fort Pain Middle School, Pell City School, Pleasant Grove High School, Jacksonville High School, Lee Scott Academy, Phillips Preparatory School, Red Door Theatre, Springwood School, UMS Wright Preparatory School. Judges for the events included Brady Walker, Kelly Brooke Brown, Kim Mason, Tony Davison, Chris Kelly, LaBrandon Tyre.

All Star Awards Scottsboro:

Solo Acting Novice

3rd Place –   Audrey Stokes, Collins Intermediate School

2nd Place –  Sophia Taylor, Collins Intermediate School

1st Place –  Ally Cramer, Collins Intermediate School

Solo Acting Varsity

3rd Place –  Xander Argiro, Collins Intermediate School

2nd Place –  Cecilia Pleva, Albertville School

1st Place –   Griffin Simmons, Albertville School

Duet Acting Novice

3rd Place –  Bailey Hixson & Laila King, Collins Intermediate School

2nd Place –  Sawyer McWilliams & Jake More, Collins Intermediate School

1st Place –  Jacklyn Smith & Lilyan Hardman, Collins Intermediate School

Duet Acting Varsity

3rd Place –  Ian and Eli Golson, Pirate Players

2nd Place –  Tyler Coley & Paul Bennet Centre Middle School

1st Place –  Dylan Chastain & Maggie Whitaker, Collins Intermediate School

Musical Theatre Novice

3rd Place –  Sawyer McWilliams, Collins Intermediate School

2nd Place –  Ally Sullivan, Pirate Players

1st Place – Corbin Parker, Collins Intermediate School

Musical Theatre Varsity

3rd Place –  Jadon Davis, CharACTers Children’s Theatre

2nd Place –  Cecilia Pleva, Albertville School

1st Place –  Ramsey Whitney, CharACTers Children’s Theatre

All Star Cast Montgomery:

Solo Acting Novice Winners

1st place – Corey Jackson, MacMillan International Baccalaureate Academy

2nd place- Faith Mahone, MacMillan International Baccalaureate Academy

3rd place – Julian Straughn, MacMillan International Baccalaureate Academy

Honorable Mention- Laura Lee Putnam, Albertville Junior High School

Solo Acting-Varsity Winners

1st place- Charlie Key, Springwood School

2nd Place – Jay Collins, Lee Scott

3rd place – Kensey LcCroix, Phillips Preparatory School

Duet Acting-Varsity-Winners

1st place — Jay Collins and Campbell Thomas, Lee Schoot

2nd place — Cate Courtney and Olivia Rocconi, UMS Wright

3rd place — Ryan Walton and Ridge Tanner, UMS Wrights

Honorable Mention — Jason Grinstead and Landon Perdue, Cloverdale Playhouse

Musical Theatre-Novice- Winners

1st place — Audrey Edwards, UMS Wright

2nd place — Laure Lee Putman, Red Door Theatre

3rd place — Killian Delaney, UMS Wright

Musical Theatre-Varsity-winners

1st place: Kensey LaCroix, Phillips Preparatory

2nd place: Griffin Simmons, Albertville Junior High

3rd place: Charlie Key, Springwood School

Honorable Mention: Cecilia Pleva, Albertville Junior High