Skip to main content

ACTFest 2012-2013

| Cynthia Harper |

October 25, 26 and 27, 2013 at the Wetumpka Depot Theatre, Wetumpka, Wetumpka Depot Players

After completing two days full days and nights of enlightening workshops, inspiring and entertaining performances, after glow parties, a silent auction, a children’s theatre competition, and a brief divisional meeting, participants agreed the event was a smashing success and one of the smoothest festivals ever!

The Wetumpka Depot Players were warm and gracious hosts with their excellent facility.  Many folks reported that the workshop idea exchanges and performances were highlights of the festival, encouraging them to raise the bar at their own theatres. Thanks to all who made it possible: our hosts–Kristy Meanor, Carol Heier, and Tom Salter and the Wetumpka Depot Players’ superb volunteers; our backstage crew: Bill Richardson, David Bailor, Karen Black; Festival Chair John Chain and Vice Chair Cliff Keen, Jr.;  Silent Auction Coordinator Nell Richardson; Theatre for Youth Chair Kelleybrooke Blackwell; AACT Festival Commissioner Thomas La Foe and our adjudicators: Ginger Heath (North Carolina), Lynn Nelson (Mississippi), and Sam Wallace (Auburn University, Montgomery).

Best of Show:

“Living Together,” Theatre Downtown, directed by Mary Anne Garrett
“Sylvia,” South City Theatre, directed by Sue Ellen Gerrells

Alternate Show:

 “William the Bard,” Park Players, directed by Clay Boyce

One Act Awards:

Best actor: Douglas O’Neill, Jr. — “Living Together”

Best actress:  Ashley Richardson — “Sylvia

Best supporting actress: Beth Ashton — “Living Together”

Best supporting actor: David Coker — “William the Bard”

Outstanding Achievement in Direction: Clay Boyce, “William the Bard”

Outstanding Achievement in Set Design: “A Southern Exposure”

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography: Jared Max Wright, “Freckleface Strawberry”

Outstanding Achievement in Ensemble: “Freckleface Strawberry”

Spirit of the Road Award: Red Door Theatre

All Star Cast:

Barbara Davis (Ida Mae) — “A Southern Exposure”, Wetumpka Depot Players

John Collier (Piney) — “A Bad Year for Tomatoes”, Millbrook Community Players

Juanita Smith (Leateen Saunders) — “The Passing of Pearl”, Red Door Theatre

Brittain Bright (Jean) — “Dead Man’s Cell Phone”, Auburn Area Community Theatre

Hannah Francis (Sarah) — “Living Together”, Theatre Downtown

M. Bates Redwine (Tom) — “Living Together”, Theatre Downtown

Thomas William Shaw (Tom/Leslie) — “Sylvia”, South City Theatre

Howard Green (Edmund Malone) — “William the Bard”, Park Players

Grant Lackey (Jake) — “Freckleface Strawberry”, Whole Backstage Theatre

Baylee Saint (Strawberry) — “Freckleface Strawberry”, Whole Backstage Theatre

A special thank you to the competing companies who brought such entertaining and engaging productions:

Wetumpka Depot Players: “A Southern Exposure”

Millbrook Community Players: “A Bad Year for Tomatoes”

Red Door Theatre (Union Springs): “The Passing of Pearl”

Auburn Area Community Theatre: “Dead Man’s Cell Phone”

Theatre Downtown (Birmingham): “Living Together”

South City Theatre (Columbiana): “Sylvia”

Park Players (Birmingham): “William the Bard”

The Whole Backstage Theatre: “Freckleface Strawberry, the Musical”

Join Today

Any member of your organization can register for ACT Membership.