Skip to main content

ACTFest 2011-2012

| Cynthia Harper |

October 15, 2011, Jacksonville State University, Jacksonville, AL

The dust has settled; the lights have dimmed, and the reviews are in. Alabama winds up another successful Fall Festival! From workshops to the Silent Auction to the talent competition to productions, this event fostered a learning experience for all involved and created network opportunities for those who participated. Thanks to Kevin and Mary Ann Garrett, John and Susan Chain, Mike Gerrells, Terry Kelley, Bill Richardson, Karen Black, David Bailor, and all the community theatre participants who supported our festival in so many ways.

Four shows competed on October 15 at Jacksonville State University, Jacksonville, AL from Wetumpka, Alabaster, Opelika, and Guntersville. Adjudicators April Marshall (North Carolina), Fulton Burns (Mobile, AL), Beth Harvey (Florida) 

Best of Show

“Agnes of God” by South City Theatre (Alabaster)
“Crafty” by Auburn Area Community Theatre (Opelika)

One Act Awards

Best Actress: Andrea Holliday, Auburn Area Community Theatre

Best Actor: Not Given

Best Supporting Actress: Kristy Meanor, Wetumpka Depot Players

Best Supporting Actor: Jeff Langham, Wetumpka Depot Players

Best Ensemble: Whole Back Stage Theatre (Guntersville)

Talent Competition:

Adult Division: Lisa Ponder

Student Division

Best Musical Theatre Duo: Lexi Scarbrough and Grant Lackey

Best Monologue: Jared Wright

Best Musical Solo: Laura Kate Smith

Best Acting Duo: Laura Kate Smith and Jack Mullins

Join Today

Any member of your organization can register for ACT Membership.